spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-102 mission extended a day
Posted: Fri, Mar 16, 2001, 7:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
STS-102 logo NASA announced late Thursday that the space shuttle Discovery will remain docked to the International Space Station an extra day to give crews additional time to pack items for the trip back to Earth. Under the new mission plan, Discovery will undock from the station late Sunday night after removing the Leonardo cargo module from the station and returning it to the shuttle's cargo bay. The shuttle's landing time has also been pushed back a day, to approximately 2 am EST (0700 GMT) Wednesday, March 21. The extra time was added to the shuttle's stay at ISS to give shuttle and station crews additional time to pack Leonardo with approximately 725 kg of equipment and trash that are to be returned to Earth, after the crew and controllers found that proper packing of the module was taking much more time than anticipated.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Mo Brooks Named Founding Member of New House NASA Caucus
Yellowhammer News — 8:03 pm ET (0003 GMT)
Epic new Lego set honors the pioneering women of NASA and people are loving it
Atlanta Journal-Constitution — 8:03 pm ET (0003 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list