spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Inaugural GSLV launch scrubbed
Posted: Wed, Mar 28, 2001, 9:54 AM ET (1454 GMT)
GSLV rocket The first launch of a large new Indian rocket has been postponed indefinitely after a fire broke out seconds before liftoff Wednesday. The Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) was scheduled to lift off from the launch site at Sriharikota, India at 5:15 am EST (1015 GMT) and place an experimental communications satellite into geosynchronous orbit. However, when the booster's first stage engines were ignited a few seconds before liftoff, flames could be seen coming out of the side of the rocket, forcing controllers to shut down the engines and scrub the launch. A preliminary investigation pinpointed the failure to one of four strap-on boosters, the BBC reported. K. Kasturirangan, chairman of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), called the failure "all part and parcel of this kind of game" and said that the mission was cancelled for the foreseeable future. The GSLV is India's most powerful launch vehicle and the first capable of placing payloads in geosynchronous orbit; India has previously relied on foreign rockets to place communications, weather, and other spacecraft in such orbits.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list