spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Endeavour cleared for April 19 launch
Posted: Fri, Apr 6, 2001, 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
STS-100 patch NASA decided Thursday to launch the space shuttle Endeavour on April 19 after considering proposals to move up or back the launch date. NASA had been planning on an April 19 launch but had looked into either moving up the launch date a day or moving it back a couple weeks into early May to avoid creating a "traffic jam" at the station with both the shuttle and a Soyuz taxi mission. However, Russian officials agreed to delay the April 28 launch of the Soyuz if Endeavour's launch ran into delays so that there would be at least a two-day break between the shuttle undocking and Soyuz docking for the station crew. The main purpose of the STS-100 shuttle mission is to install a Canadian-built robot arm on the station and ferry additional research equipment and experiments. If the shuttle launches on time at 2:41 pm EDT (1841 GMT) April 19, it will dock with the station two days later and undock on April 28 before landing back at the Kennedy Space Center on the morning of April 30.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list