spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


X-40A completes second NASA drop test
Posted: Fri, Apr 13, 2001, 1:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)
X-40A drop test The X-40A, a prototype of an experimental reusable spacecraft, completed its second NASA-run drop test in California Thursday. The vehicle was released from a helicopter 4,590 meters above Edwards Air Force Base, California at 11:45 am EDT (1545 GMT) Thursday morning, and glided to a successful landing two minutes later. The vehicle made a series of complex maneuvers during its descent, in contrast to a more straightforward landing during a drop test last month. Up to five more drop tests of the X-40A are planned at Edwards in the coming months. The X-40A is an 85-percent scale model of the X-37, an experimental spacecraft NASA is developing to test technologies for future reusable vehicles. Before being loaned to NASA as part of the X-37 program, the Boeing-built X-40A was part of the Air Force's Space Maneuver Vehicle program, and completed one drop test in 1998 from Holloman Air Force Base in New Mexico.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list