spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches GSLV
Posted: Wed, Apr 18, 2001, 8:29 AM ET (1229 GMT)
GSLV rocket India's space agency successfully launched a new, more powerful launch vehicle early Wednesday, three weeks after a last-second launch abort. The first Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) lifted off on schedule at 6:13 am EDT (1013 GMT) from the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) launch facility at Sriharikota. The spacecraft placed into orbit the GSAT-1 eperimental communications satellite. The launch was scheduled for March 28 but was aborted one second before liftoff when a plumbing problem in one of four strap-on boosters prevented it from generating enough thrust. The three-stage GSLV is the first Indian launcher capable of placing payloads into geosynchronous orbit, and is seen by many as a sign that India has become a major spacefaring nation.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list