spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle cleared for January 19 launch
Posted: Thu, Jan 11, 2001, 1:50 PM ET (1850 GMT)
STS-98 mission patch NASA approved plans Wednesday to launch the space shuttle Atlantis next week on a mission to the International Space Station. Shuttle managers gave the green light to launch Atlantis on Friday, January 19 at 2:11 am EST (0711 GMT). The five-person crew of STS-98 will deliver the Destiny lab module to ISS, with three spacewalks planned to install the module to the station's Unity docking node. Preparations for the launch have been squeezed into a tight schedule after the shuttle's rollout was delayed last month to check for electrical problems with the solid rocket boosters, and delayed again a day last week after the crawler transporter malfunctioned during the rollout itself. Crews are "working three shifts, seven days to pull this off," Kennedy Space Center spokesman George Diller told Florida Today.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list