spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays Rockot launch
Posted: Wed, Oct 29, 2003, 6:24 PM ET (2324 GMT)
Rockot booster in flight (DLR/Spaceflight Now) High winds forced the postponement Wednesday of the Rockot launch of a Japanese technology satellite. The Rockot, a converted SS-19 missile, was scheduled to lift off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia on Wednesday morning, but officials delayed the launch because winds at some altitudes exceeded 80 meters per second, far above the vehicle's limit of 46 m/s. The launch has been rescheduled for Thursday, October 30, at 8:43 am EST (1343 GMT). When it does lift off, the Rockot will place into a sun-synchronous 1000-kilometer orbit the Space Environment Reliability Verification Integrated System 1 (SERVIS-1) satellite. SERVIS-1 is a project of Japan's Institute for Unmanned Space Experiment Free Flyer designed to test the viability of commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) electronics components in space.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list