spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz lifts off on historic flight
Posted: Sat, Apr 28, 2001, 5:29 AM ET (0929 GMT)
Soyuz 2 launch (Spaceflight Now) A Russian Soyuz spacecraft carrying Dennis Tito, the first commercial space tourist, lifted off early Saturday. The Soyuz rocket lifted off from Baikonur on schedule at 3:37 am EDT (0737 GMT) and placed the Soyuz spacecraft into orbit ten minutes after launch. Tito told ground controllers shortly after achieving orbit that he felt good. The spacecraft is scheduled to dock with the International Space Station around 4 am EDT (0800 GMT) Monday, April 30; however, Rosaviakosmos officials agreed Friday to delay the docking if the space shuttle Endeavour was still docked to the station at that time. Tito has been billed as the first commercial space tourist, having paid an estimated $20 million to join two Russian cosmonauts, Talgat Musabayev and Yuri Baturin, on a "taxi mission" to replace the existing Soyuz spacecraft docked at ISS with a new one. Tito and his Russian crewmates will spend about a week at the station. NASA and the other international partners reluctantly agreed to Tito's flight less than a week ago, after Tito signed agreements to hold them harmless in the event of death or injury and to pay for any damage he causes while on the station. Tito is also prohibited from entering American portions of the station without an escort, although the Russian commander of the station's Expedition Two crew, Yuri Usachev, has said that Tito will be welcome throughout the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list