spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches missile with possible satellite payload
Posted: Sun, Dec 7, 2003, 4:58 PM ET (2158 GMT)
Russia launched an ICBM Friday on a test flight, but it was uncertain whether the vehicle placed a satellite into orbit. The SS-19 launched from a silo at Baikonur at 1:00 am EST (0600 GMT) Friday, according to Russian reports. However, those reports are unclear whether the rocket was launched simply on a suborbital test flight or if the vehicle placed a satellite into orbit. Reuters quoted a Russian military official who said the missile put a small satellite, whose exact mass was not disclosed, into a very low orbit only 120-160 km high. Other Russian reports, though, made no mention of the satellite launch or claimed that the launch carried a dummy warhead towards the Kamchatka Peninsula in the Russian Far East. These have been efforts to convert the SS-19 into a low-cost launcher, the Strela; this launch would be the first, if in fact it was a Strela flight. SS-19 missiles are already converted into Rockot launch vehicles, part of a joint venture between Russian and German companies.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list