spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches navigation satellites
Posted: Thu, Dec 11, 2003, 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton rocket successfully launched three navigation satellites on Wednesday. The Proton K lifted off from Baikonur at 12:42 pm EST (1742 GMT) and deployed its payload of three satellites into their final orbits nearly six hours later using the Briz-KM upper stage. The spacecraft, designated Kosmos 2402, 2403, and 2404, will partially replenish the Russian Glonass navigation constellation. Glonass is similar to the American GPS system, but in recent years a lack of new satellites to replace ones that failed in orbit diminished its usefulness. One of the three satellites is an upgraded Uragan-M satellite, with a seven-year lifetime, versus three years for the other two standard Uragan satellites.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list