spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars Express enters orbit around Red Planet
Posted: Thu, Dec 25, 2003, 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
Mars Express illustration (ESA) ESA's Mars Express spacecraft successfully entered orbit around the planet Mars early Thursday. The spacecraft, ESA's first mission to the Red Planet, fired its main engine at 9:47 pm EST Wednesday (0247 GMT Thursday) for 37 minutes to inject the spacecraft into orbit around the planet. The spacecraft is currently in an elliptical orbit with an average altitude of several thousand kilometers. The spacecraft will alter its orbit on December 30 to enter a 300x10000 km polar orbit. Mars Express will also be available starting in early January to communicate with the Beagle 2 lander, provided that the lander is operating.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches classified satellite
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:35 PM ET (2235 GMT)

ESA seeks nearly $14 billion over three years
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:34 PM ET (2234 GMT)

InSight makes progress with heat flow probe
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:33 PM ET (2233 GMT)

news links
Sunday, October 20
Getting Water From Waste In Space
Forbes.com — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Waste of Space
Los Angeles Review of Books — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
Study: Male mice can breed even after visits to outer space
Asahi Shimbun — 9:23 am ET (1323 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list