spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Stardust gears up for comet flyby
Posted: Wed, Dec 31, 2003, 7:33 PM ET (0033 GMT)
Stardust spacecraft illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Stardust spacecraft is ready to fly past a comet on Friday, project officials confirmed this week. Stardust will pass about 300 km from the nucleus of comet Wild-2 on Friday at 2:40 pm EST (1940 GMT). The spacecraft has already entered the coma surrounding the comet, and has rotated itself so that the bulk of the spacecraft is protected by its Whipple shields, bumpers designed to dissipate the energy of any impacting particles. The mission, part of NASA's Discovery program of low-cost science missions, is designed to collect samples of cometary material as it passes through the coma. It will return those samples, along with samples of the interplanetary medium collected earlier in the mission, to Earth in 2006. Images and other data also collected during the flyby will be transmitted back to Earth shortly after the flyby.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list