spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Spirit lands on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jan 4, 2004, 1:22 AM ET (0622 GMT)
Mars Exploration Rover (NASA/JPL) NASA's Spirit Mars rover has successfully landed on Mars, project officials report. The spacecraft landed on Mars at 11:35 pm EST Saturday (0435 GMT Sunday) after a six-minute descent phase. Spacecraft controllers had an intermittent signal around that time indicating the spacecraft was bounding across the surface on its airbags, but it took about 15 minutes to finally get a strong signal indicating the spacecraft had come to rest and was in good condition. The spacecraft came to rest on its base petal, simplifying the process of deflating the airbags and unfolding the petals. The first images from the spacecraft on the surface could be transmitted as soon as later today, although it will be about nine days before the rover leaves the lander itself.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list