spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Technical issue delays Delta launch one day
Posted: Wed, May 16, 2001, 3:40 PM ET (1940 GMT)
Replacement of a potentially faulty set of hoses has delayed Thursday's launch of an experimental military satellite on a Delta 2 by one day. Boeing officials delayed the launch, scheduled for Thursday afternoon, after tests of another Delta 2 turned up a leak in one of three flexible hoses in the booster's first-stage engine. The 24-hour delay will give technicians time to replace the hoses in the booster on the launch pad as a precaution. Launch is now scheduled to take place during a 79-minute window that begins at 1:07 pm EDT (1707 GMT) Friday from Cape Canaveral, Florida. The booster will place into orbit the Geosynchronous Lightweight Technology Experiment (GeoLITE), a National Reconnaissance Office spacecraft built by TRW that will test an experimental laser communications system.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list