spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Lunar-A launch delayed
Posted: Wed, Mar 31, 2004, 11:23 AM ET (1623 GMT)
Lunar-A spacecraft illustration (JAXA) The Japanese space agency JAXA has delayed the launch of a lunar mission that had been scheduled to lift off this summer, the AP reported Wednesday. JAXA officials said the launch was delayed because valves in the spacecraft's thrusters have been recalled by their American manufacturer, Moog, because of potential defects. Officials did not indicate how long the launch would be delayed, but the AP article said that the Kyodo News agency reported the problem would delay the launch until next year. Lunar-A is a small orbiter that carries two penetrators that will be fired into the lunar surface. The spacecraft will be launched by a M 5 rocket. A larger Japanese lunar mission, Selene, has been pushed back from 2005 until 2006 because of problems with the larger H-2A rocket that will launch that spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Saturday, August 27
NASA's Juno to Soar Closest to Jupiter This Saturday
NASA/JPL — 7:35 am ET (1135 GMT)
Jupiter, get ready for your close-up: Juno is coming
Los Angeles Times — 7:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Nasa's Juno probe to make closest pass of Jupiter
The Guardian — 7:29 am ET (1129 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list