spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


XCOR wins launch license
Updated: Sat, Apr 24, 2004, 11:42 AM ET (1542 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Apr 23, 2004, 2:35 PM ET (1835 GMT)
Xerus spacecraft illustration (Space Adventures/XCOR) Suborbital RLV developer XCOR Aerospace has received a launch license from the FAA, making it the second company in as many months to win such a license for manned suborbital spacecraft. The license was announced by FAA officials at the Space Access '04 conference in Phoenix Friday morning, with representatives of XCOR in attendance. The license is for an intermediate technology demonstration vehicle dubbed Sphinx that may lead to the development of Xerus, a suborbital RLV the company has proposed developing for commercial applications. The license does not include passenger flights but it would allow other revenue-generating flights after its initial tests. XCOR was the first company to have submitted a "sufficiently complete" application to the FAA’s Office of Commercial Space Transportation (AST) in October; the 180-day period for AST to make a decision on the application expired on Friday. In early April Scaled Composites received the first launch license for a suborbital manned spacecraft, for its SpaceShipOne vehicle currently undergoing flight testing.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list