spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 27, 2004, 12:31 PM ET (1631 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton rocket launched a Russian domestic communications satellite early Tuesday. The Proton K lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 4:37 pm EDT Monday (2037 GMT Monday, 12:37 am Moscow time Tuesday) and placed the Express-AM11 satellite into geosynchronous orbit six and a half hours later. The satellite was built by Russian firm NPO PM, although Alcatel provided the spacecraft's payload of 26 C-band and 4 Ku-band transponders. Express-AM11 will provide services from 96.5 degrees east longitude. The satellite is the second in a five-satellite fleet being deployed by the Russian Satellite Communications Company (RSCC) through the end of 2005.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list