spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sea Launch deploys DirecTV satellite
Posted: Tue, May 4, 2004, 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)
Zenit 3SL launch of Galaxy 13 (Sea Launch) The multinational Sea Launch consortium successfully launched a new satellite for direct TV broadcasting company DirecTV early Tuesday. The Zenit 3SL lifted off from Sea Launch's Odyssey mobile launch platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean on schedule at 8:42 am EDT (1242 GMT) Tuesday. The rocketís payload, the DirecTV 7S satellite, separated from the upper stage 29 minutes later after entering a geosynchronous transfer orbit. The satellite, a Space Systems/Loral 1300-spacecraft, will operate from 119 degrees west, and will allow DirecTV to provide local channels to an additional 41 markets in the US. Weighing 5,483 kg at liftoff, the spacecraft is the heaviest commercial GEO satellite successfully launched. The spacecraft was originally to be launched by Arianespace on an Ariane 5, but was transferred to Sea Launch last year as the first use of a new Launch Services Alliance between Arianespace, Boeing (which owns a controlling stake in Sea Launch), and Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, which operates Japan's H-2A booster.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list