spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceShipOne performs third powered test flight
Updated: Fri, May 14, 2004, 12:49 AM ET (0449 GMT)
Originally Posted: Thu, May 13, 2004, 2:57 PM ET (1857 GMT)
SpaceShipOne on 7th glide flight (Scaled Composites) SpaceShipOne, the suborbital RLV under development by Scaled Composites, flew its third powered test flight Thursday morning. Scaled Composites reported that the vehicle reached a peak altitude of 64.6 km during the flight, its highest altitude to date. Scaled Composites offered no other details about the flight, saying that they would release more detailed data on its web site in the near future. The flight is the latest step in an incremental test program for the air-launched vehicle, widely considered the front-runner to win the Ansari X Prize, a $10 million award to the first privately-developed suborbital vehicle capable of carrying three people to 100 km twice within two weeks. Scaled has offered no details regarding when it will attempt the X Prize flights, but many observers expect that, barring any problems, the vehicle will be ready for its suborbital flights this summer.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list