spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress launched to ISS
Posted: Tue, May 25, 2004, 1:54 PM ET (1754 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Soyuz rocket launched a Progress cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station on Tuesday. The Soyuz booster lifted off from Baikonur at 8:34 am EDT (1234 GMT) and placed the Progress M-49 (called Progress 14P by NASA) into low Earth orbit. The spacecraft is scheduled to dock with the aft port on the station's Zvezda module Thursday at 9:55 am EDT (1355 GMT). The spacecraft is carrying 2.5 tons of food, water, propellant, and other supplies for the station. Had the launch failed, or if the spacecraft is unable to dock with the station, the crew could be forced to return to Earth in July: Florida Today reported that without the new Progress the station currently only has enough water to last until the beginning of August. Progress M1-11 (Progress 13P), which had been docked to the aft port on Zvezda, undocked from the station early Monday. It will remain in orbit for several weeks for engineering tests before deorbiting.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list