spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Fri, May 28, 2004, 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)
A Tsiklon-2 booster launched a Russian military satellite on Friday, according to Russian media reports. The Tsiklon-2 (Cyclone-2) booster lifted off from Baikonur at 2 am EDT (0600 GMT) and placed its payload into orbit. No details about the spacecraft were announced other than that it would be used for military purposes; the name of the satellite was not even announced, although it will likely be known as Kosmos 2407. Western analysts have suggested that the spacecraft may carry a signals intelligence payload.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list