spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


JAXA, NASA test solar sail technology
Posted: Tue, Aug 10, 2004, 8:48 PM ET (0048 GMT)
In a pair of recent, independent tests, Japanese and American teams have successfully tested systems that could be used to deploy giant solar sails. On Monday the Japanese space agency JAXA launched a sounding rocket carrying a solar sail demonstration payload. During the suborbital flight the payload successfully deployed two different prototype solar sails, each about 10 meters across. One sail was clover-shaped with four petals, while the other was fan-shaped. JAXA billed the flight as the first successful in-space test of a "large" sail, although Russia tested similar technologies in space in the 1990s using Progress spacecraft on missions to the Mir space station. In the US, a project supported by NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center successfully tested on the ground the deployment of two different solar sails, each 10 meters long, according to a space agency press release issued Monday. One sail, by L'Garde Inc., was deployed last month in a vacuum chamber operated by the NASA Glenn Research Center. The other sail, by Able Engineering, was tested in May at NASA Langley.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Wednesday, August 24
35 Years On, Voyager's Legacy Continues at Saturn
NASA/JPL — 3:36 pm ET (1936 GMT)
An Exoplanet Too Far
The New Yorker — 3:34 pm ET (1934 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list