spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays Ariane launch
Posted: Fri, Jun 8, 2001, 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)
Poor weather conditions led Arianespace to scrub Friday morning's scheduled launch of an Intelsat communications satellite. An Ariane 44L was scheduled to lift off at 2:44 am EDT (0644 GMT), carrying the Intelsat 901 satellite. However, high upper-altitude winds forced flight controllers to delay the launch at least a day. A decision will be made later Friday whether to make another launch attempt Saturday morning. Intelsat 901 will be used to replace an existing communications satellite over the Atlantic Ocean, providing coverage over the Atlantic and portions of Europe. The launch will be the first for Arianespace since an Ariane 5 launched two communications satellites three months ago.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 23
NASA, Iridium carpooled on Tuesday’s SpaceX mission
Los Angeles Business Journal — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list