spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Stardust completes Earth flyby
Posted: Mon, Jan 15, 2001, 4:36 PM ET (2136 GMT)
Stardust Earth flyby NASA's Stardust spacecraft made a gravity-assist swingby of Earth early Monday en route to comet Wild-2. The spacecraft came 6,012 km from the Earth at 6:16 am EST (1116 GMT) Monday, and was successfully tracked by NASA's Deep Space Network and observed by astronomers in Australia, Hawaii and California. All systems on the spacecraft are working normally, according to a JPL status report issued Monday afternoon. Stardust will pass 98,000 km from the Moon later Monday; a navigation camera on the spacecraft will take some images of it for calibration purposes. The flyby puts Stardust on course for its January 2004 flyby of comet Wild-2 and a return to Earth two years later.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list