spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cassini flies past Titan
Posted: Wed, Dec 15, 2004, 7:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)
Cassini and Huygens at Titan (NASA) NASA's Cassini spacecraft made its second close approach to Titan this week, encountering more atmospheric drag than expected during the flyby. Cassini made its close approach to Titan at 7 pm EST Monday (0000 GMT Tuesday), coming within 1,200 km of the moon's surface. USA Today reported Wednesday that the spacecraft encountered more atmospheric drag than expected during the flyby, evidence that the moon's atmosphere extends farther outward than expected. As a result, mission controllers plan to raise the altitude of a planned February flyby from 950 to 1,030 km. Cassini is still on schedule to release the ESA-built Huygens probe late on Christmas Eve; Huygens will enter Titan's atmosphere on January 14.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list