spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
2029 asteroid impact ruled out
Posted: Tue, Dec 28, 2004, 11:01 AM ET (1601 GMT)
A small asteroid that earned the highest rating ever on an asteroid impact threat scale now poses no risk of colliding with the Earth in 2029, scientists said late Monday. Asteroid 2004 MN4, discovered in June and reobserved earlier this month, at one point posed a 1-in-37 chance of colliding with the Earth on April 13, 2029. Those odds put the object briefly at a 4 on the 0-to-10 Torino Scale, meaning that the object had a greater than one percent chance of striking the Earth and warranted special attention by astronomers. However, pre-discovery images of the object allowed astronomers to refine its orbit on Monday, ruling out any possibility of a 2029 impact. The asteroid, about 400 meters in diameter, also poses no other impact probabilities with the Earth through the rest of the 21st century.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Boeing and SpaceX for commercial crew contracts
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:32 PM ET (0132 GMT)

NASA report criticizes management of NEO program office
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:16 PM ET (0116 GMT)

ESA picks comet landing site
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 7:29 AM ET (1129 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 17
Indian Mars craft prepares for orbit
Nature News — 5:31 am ET (0931 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX win NASA contract for US space taxis
Itar-Tass — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
Atlas V thunders to orbit with mystery satellite
Florida Today — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)

Tuesday, September 16
Five takeaways from NASA’s commercial crew decision
Houston Chronicle — 8:08 pm ET (0008 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list