spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis rolled out to launch pad
Posted: Fri, Jun 22, 2001, 1:54 PM ET (1754 GMT)
STS-104 rollout (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Atlantis was rolled out to its launch pad Thursday in preparation for a mission to the International Space Station next month. The shuttle completed the rollout to pad 39A Thursday morning, one day later than planned after thunderstorms led shuttle managers to stop Wednesday's rollout attempt just after it started. NASA is planning to launch Atlantis on mission STS-104 no sooner than 5:05 am EDT (0905 GMT) July 12; a firm launch date will be announced next week. The main purpose of the mission is to install a airlock module on the Unity module of the station. The mission has been delayed a month because of problems with the station's robotic arm, which is required for the installation. Those problems appear to have been resolved: SPACE.com reported that the ISS crew put the arm through a series of maneuvers Thursday without any problems that plagued arm tests last month and earlier this month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list