spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches Inmarsat satellite
Posted: Fri, Mar 11, 2005, 10:07 PM ET (0307 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of Inmarsat 4-F1 (J. Foust) An Atlas 5 vehicle successfully launched a heavy Inmarsat communications satellite Friday. The Atlas 5 431 lifted off Friday from Complex 41 at Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 4:42 pm EST (2142 GMT). It placed its payload, Inmarsat 4-F1, into a supersynchronous transfer orbit 32 minutes later. The launch was delayed one day because of minor technical glitches; there were no serious problems encountered during Friday's countdown, and weather conditions cooperated despite occasionally gusty winds. Inmarsat 4-F1, built by EADS Astrium, is the heaviest commercial communications satellite ever orbited, with a launch mass of approximately 5,950 kilograms. The satellite, to be located in GEO at 65 degrees east longitude, will be used by Inmarsat to provide voice and broadband data services.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list