spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Thu, May 5, 2005, 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
PSLV launch of CARTOSAT-1 (ISRO) An Indian rocket successfully launched a domestic remote sensing satellite Thursday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) lifted off from a new pad at the Satish Dhawan Space Centre in Sriharikota, India at 12:44 am EST (0444 GMT, 10:14 am local time) and placed the Cartosat-1 satellite into orbit 18 minutes later. The 1.5-ton spacecraft, built by the Indian space agency ISRO, is designed to produce stereo imagery of the Earth with resolutions of 2.5 meters per pixel for use in cartography. The PSLV also carried a small secondary payload, Hamsat; the 42.5-kg satellite will serve as an amateur radio relay. The launch was the first this year for India.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 25 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)

SpaceX Falcon 9 launches BulgariaSat-1
Posted: Sun, Jun 25 9:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)

PSLV launches 31 satellites
Posted: Sun, Jun 25 8:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 26
Beware of Mars and Bust
The Space Review — 4:54 pm ET (2054 GMT)
A small country’s big vision about small objects
The Space Review — 4:53 pm ET (2053 GMT)
Outpost in the Sky: Skylab, the NASA Mission Reports
The Space Review — 4:52 pm ET (2052 GMT)
Review: Mars: The Pristine Beauty of the Red Planet
The Space Review — 4:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list