spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASDA announces launch date for first H-2A
Posted: Wed, Jul 4, 2001, 11:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
H-2A illustration (NASDA) The Japanese space agency NASDA announced Wednesday it is planning to launch its new H-2A booster on its maiden flight late next month. Officials with the National Space Development Agency of Japan said that the launch of the H-2A is scheduled for between 1 and 6 pm Japan Standard Time (12 to 5 am EDT, 0400 to 0900 GMT) August 25 from the Tanegashima Launch Center. NASDA has reserved a launch window extending through the end of September should the H-2A not launch on August 25. The launch will be the first for the long-delayed H-2A, an upgraded version of the H-2 booster that was retired after back-to-back launch failures in February 1998 and November 1999. The H-2A's improvements include more powerful second-stage and solid-propellent strap-on engines and a simplified first-stage engine. The H-2A was originally scheduled to carry Artemis, a European Space Agency experimental communications satellite, but ESA elected to launch Artemis instead on an Ariane after the extended H-2A launch delays. The vehicle will instead carry a test payload.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list