spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather satellite launch delayed
Posted: Wed, May 11, 2005, 8:05 AM ET (1205 GMT)
Delta 2 launch file photo (Boeing) The launch of a new polar-orbiting weather satellite has been postponed because of high winds early Wednesday. The Delta 2 was scheduled to lift off in the early morning hours of Wednesday to place the NOAA-N satellite into polar orbit. However, officials scrubbed the launch Tuesday night because high winds prevented the rollback of the service tower at the launch pad, halting launch preparations. The launch has been rescheduled for Thursday at 6:22 am EDT (1022 GMT), at which time winds are forecast to subside. NOAA-N is the latest in a series of Polar Operational Environmental Satellites that complement other weather satellites in geosynchronous orbit, providing atmospheric sounding and other data.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 16
Grant accepted at Cecil Spaceport
Jacksonville (FL) Daily Record — 8:27 am ET (1227 GMT)
Defense firms bullish on ‘Space Force’
The Hill — 7:26 am ET (1126 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list