spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Winds again delay Delta launch
Posted: Thu, May 12, 2005, 7:09 AM ET (1109 GMT)
Delta 2 launch file photo (Boeing) For the second straight day high winds have delayed the launch of a weather satellite from California. The Delta 2 was scheduled to lift off Thursday morning, but the launch was postponed Wednesday evening because winds at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California were too high to permit the mobile service tower at the launch site to be retracted. High winds had also forced a similar scrub 24 hours earlier. The launch is now scheduled for Friday at 6:22 am EDT (1022 GMT), with winds forecast to be acceptable for tower retraction on Thursday evening. The rocket will launch the NOAA-N weather satellite into polar orbit. NOAA-N is the latest in a series of Polar Operational Environmental Satellites that complement other weather satellites in geosynchronous orbit, providing atmospheric sounding and other data.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list