spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Pad glitch delays Delta launch
Posted: Fri, May 13, 2005, 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
Delta 2 launch file photo (Boeing) For the third straight day the launch of a weather satellite from California has been delayed, this time because of a problem with the launch pad. Launch controllers scrubbed the Delta 2 launch of the NOAA-N satellite about 90 minutes before its scheduled liftoff from Vandenberg Air Force Base after they concluded they could not fix a problem with the pad in time to permit a launch. The problem was with the electrical system of water deluge pumps that spray water at launch to cool the pad and dampen vibrations at launch. The launch, delayed the previous two days because of weather, has been rescheduled for Saturday at 6:22 am EDT (1022 GMT). NOAA-N is the latest in a series of Polar Operational Environmental Satellites that complement other weather satellites in geosynchronous orbit, providing atmospheric sounding and other data.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 24
Kuwaiti youth eager to put country on space exploration map
Kuwait News Agency — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
Opinion: Time to stop throwing good money after longshot aerospace investments
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
Japan's hopping space rovers land on asteroid
Sky News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list