spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches weather satellite
Posted: Sat, May 21, 2005, 6:41 AM ET (1041 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of NOAA-N (Boeing) After over a week's worth of delays, a Delta 2 successfully launched a polar-orbiting weather satellite Friday morning. The Boeing Delta 2 7320 lifted off at 6:22 am EDT (1022 GMT)from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California and placed its payload, the NOAA-N satellite, into polar orbit 65 minutes later. The launch was scheduled for last week but was delayed several times because of weather and technical glitches, the last time after a valve problem raised concerns that the satellite had been contaminated with rocket fuel. Tests found no such contamination, clearing the way for Friday's launch. NOAA-N is the latest in a series of Polar Operational Environmental Satellites that complement other weather satellites in geosynchronous orbit, providing atmospheric sounding and other data.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list