spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Challenger debris auction cancelled
Posted: Fri, Jul 6, 2001, 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)
Challenger debris auctioned on eBay The auction of a piece of debris allegedly from the explosion of the space shuttle Challenger was cancelled late Thursday night. The online publication collectSPACE first reported Thursday morning that an individual identified only by the username "hook4ahand" was selling the item, described as a piece of insulation measuring 2 by 5 cm from the shuttle's external tank, on the Internet auction site eBay. The 10-day auction started Wednesday afternoon but was halted late Thursday night because "the item is no longer available for sale," according to the page at eBay that listed the auction. It is a violation of federal law to possess or sell Challenger debris, and collectSPACE reported early Friday that NASA's inspector general office planned to investigate the auction. A similar attempt to auction Challenger debris on eBay took place nearly two years ago; the seller was prosecuted and sentenced last year to two years' probation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceShipTwo reaches edge of space on latest test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)

Russian cosmonauts perform arduous spacewalk to inspect Soyuz
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, January 23
City eyes landfill for possible observatory
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 7:01 am ET (1201 GMT)
FCC Chairman Wants to Cultivate Innovation in Space
ViaSatellite — 7:00 am ET (1200 GMT)
EU commissioner floats idea for European space force
EU Observer — 6:59 am ET (1159 GMT)
Ambitious Thai company, mu Space, enters the space race
Disruptive.asia — 6:58 am ET (1158 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list