spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Foton microgravity science mission launched
Posted: Tue, May 31, 2005, 1:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Foton-M2 (ESA) A Russian rocket successfully launched a spacecraft Tuesday carrying experiments, including live animals, designed to study the effects of microgravity. The Soyuz rocket launched the Foton M2 spacecraft at 8:00 am EDT (1200 GMT) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, placing the unmanned spacecraft into orbit nine minutes later. The spacecraft will remain in orbit for 16 days, carrying out experiments monitored by scientists on the ground, before a descent module returns to Earth, landing near the Russia-Kazakhstan border. The spacecraft carries 39 experiments on topics ranging from biology to fluid physics to material science. Many of those experiments were flown on a similar spacecraft, Foton M1, which was lost when its Soyuz launcher exploded shortly after liftoff in October 2002.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list