spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress launched to ISS
Posted: Fri, Jun 17, 2005, 7:51 AM ET (1151 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Progress M-53 (Energia) A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a Progress cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station early Friday. The Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 7:09 pm EDT Thursday (2309 GMT) and placed the Progress M-53 spacecraft (called Progress 18 spacecraft by NASA) into orbit 10 minutes later. The Progress is scheduled to dock with the ISS at 8:44 pm EDT Saturday (0044 GMT Sunday). The spacecraft is carrying over two tons of food, water, propellant, and other supplies, including both oxygen and solid fuel oxygen-generation canisters to supplement the station's oxygen supplies given the failure of the station's Elektron oxygen generator. Also on board the progress is a new digital camera that the station crew will use to inspect the space shuttle Discovery when it arrived at the station next month on the first post-Columbia mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list