spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress docks manually with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 19, 2005, 10:44 AM ET (1444 GMT)
Progress spacecraft in orbit (NASA) A Progress spacecraft docked safely with the ISS Saturday night, but only after the crew on the space station took over control of the unmanned cargo spacecraft when an automated system malfunctioned. The Progress M-53 spacecraft docked with the aft port on the Zvezda module of the station at 8:42 pm EDT Saturday (0042 GMT Sunday). Such dockings are normally handled by an automated system, but in this case ISS cosmonaut Sergei Krikalev took over the approach and docking after communications between the ground and the Progress failed, apparently because of a problem on the ground. The spacecraft is carrying over two tons of food, water, propellant, and other supplies, including both oxygen and solid fuel oxygen-generation canisters to supplement the station's oxygen supplies given the failure of the station's Elektron oxygen generator. Also on board the progress is a new digital camera that the station crew will use to inspect the space shuttle Discovery when it arrived at the station next month on the first post-Columbia mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 21
Air Force padded its $13 billion Space Force estimate, analyst says
Washington Examiner — 5:51 am ET (0951 GMT)
Kleos Space seals launch deal for 'scouting mission' satellites
Luxembourg Times — 5:49 am ET (0949 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list