spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sea Launch carries Intelsat satellite into orbit
Posted: Fri, Jun 24, 2005, 7:28 AM ET (1128 GMT)
Zenit 3SL launch of IA-8 (Boeing) A Zenit 3 booster successfully launched a new Intelsat communications satellite early Thursday. The Sea Launch Zenit 3SL lifted off at 10:03 am EDT (1403 GMT) from the Odyssey floating platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean. The booster's payload, the Intelsat Americas 8 (IA-8) satellite, separated from the rocket's upper stage about a half-hour later. IA-8, a Space System/Loral 1300-series spacecraft, weighs in at 5,500 kilograms and carries 28 C-band and 36 Ku-band transponders, as well as a Ka-band payload. Intelsat plans to use the satellite in GEO at 89 degrees west to provide a wide range of communications services for customers in North America and the Caribbean. The launch was the third this year for Sea Launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list