spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches communications satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 25, 2005, 6:13 AM ET (1013 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton rocket successfully launched a Russian communications satellite late Friday. The Proton-K booster lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 3:41 pm EDT (1941 GMT) Friday, and placed its payload, the Express AM-3 satellite, into its planned orbit five and a half hours later. The 2,600-kg satellite, built by Russian manufacturer NPO PM and carrying a payload provided by Alcatel, carries 16 C-band, 12 Ku-band, and 1 L-band transponder. The satellite will be positioned in GEO at 40 degrees east to provide a variety of voice, video, and data services. The spacecraft is the fifth in a series of modernized communications satellites operated by the Russian Satellite Communications Company.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list