spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-114 launch set for July 13
Posted: Thu, Jun 30, 2005, 8:36 PM ET (0036 GMT)
STS-114: logo (NASA) NASA officials announced late Thursday afternoon that the agency has scheduled the launch of the shuttle Discovery on the first post-Columbia mission for July 13. The agency said the launch of Discovery on mission STS-114 is now scheduled for July 13 at 3:51 pm EDT (1951 GMT). In a statement, NASA Administrator Michael Griffin said that engineers had "greatly reduced the risk" associated with shuttle flights, but that space flight in general was still inherently risky. NASA has designated this mission and the following one, STS-121, as "test flights" that will be used to confirm safety enhancements put in place after the Columbia accident and perform tests on orbit of tile inspection and repair techniques. Discovery will dock with the International Space Station, delivering 15 tons of supplies and equipment.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 25
Australia to create national space agency
AFP — 4:30 pm ET (2030 GMT)
How Australia can play a role in the 'second space age'
Brisbane Times — 4:29 pm ET (2029 GMT)
Opinion: ULA Forced to Coexist with Commercial Space Industry
Embry-Riddle Avion — 4:28 pm ET (2028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list