spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Deep Impact deploys impactor probe
Posted: Sun, Jul 3, 2005, 12:23 PM ET (1623 GMT)
Deep Impact spacecraft illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft released the probe early Sunday that will collide with the nucleus of comet Tempel 1 in less than 24 hours. Deep Impact released the 375-kilogram probe at 2:07 am EDT (0607 GMT) Sunday, and data returned from the spacecraft indicated that the separate was a success and the impactor was functioning normally. The impact is scheduled for 1:52 am EDT (0552 GMT) Monday. The impactor, powered by batteries and made predominately of copper, also carries cameras and other instruments, the data from which will be sent to the flyby spacecraft for later retransmission to Earth. The flyby spacecraft, along with many observatories on Earth and in space, will observe the collision, as scientists hope the impact will liberate materials from below the surface that will offer clues to the composition of the early solar system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list