spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches experimental satellite
Posted: Wed, Jul 6, 2005, 8:47 AM ET (1247 GMT)
Long March 2D launch (Xinhua) China launched a small experimental satellite early Wednesday. A Long March 2D rocket lifted off Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwest China at 6:40 pm EDT Tuesday (2240 GMT Tuesday, 6:40 am Beijing time Wednesday) and placed the Shijian-7 (SJ-7) satellite into orbit 12 minutes later. Chinese media reports state that SJ-7 will "monitor [the] space environment and conduct other spacial scientific and technological experiments" during its three-year mission. Plans for the launch were not announced before liftoff, as is often the case with Chinese missions.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list