spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Japan launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 10, 2005, 9:07 PM ET (0107 GMT)
M-5 launch of Astro-E2 (JAXA) The Japanese space agency JAXA announced Sunday that it had successfully launched a small x-ray astronomy satellite. An M-5 launch vehicle carrying the Astro-E2 satellite lifted off from the Uchinoura Space Center at 11:30 pm EDT Saturday (0330 GMT, 12:30 pm JST Sunday), placing the satellite into a 247 by 560 km orbit, inclined 31.4 degrees from the Equator. JAXA announced that the satellite would now be known as Suzaku; it is customary for Japanese spacecraft to be renamed once successfully launched. Astro-E2 carries a number of x-ray instruments designed to study astronomical phenomena like black holes. The satellite is a replacement for Astro-E, which was lost in a launch failure in 2000.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list