spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA tying up loose ends for shuttle launch
Posted: Tue, Jul 12, 2005, 8:23 AM ET (1223 GMT)
STS-114: logo (NASA) Shuttle managers said late Monday they were handing only a few "loose ends" in the final days before Wednesday afternoon's launch of the shuttle Discovery. Those issues include continued studies of external tank sensors that failed in an April test, even though NASA has since replaced the tank to be used on this mission, as well as paperwork for tools that will be tested during the shuttle mission. During a flight readiness review Monday several engineers expressed concern about an electrical umbilical link on the launch pad, but managers sided with a majority of engineers who felt the link was not a major issue. Managers were optimistic that these issues would be closed by Tuesday. Weather remains good, with a 70 percent chance of acceptable weather for the 3:51 pm EDT (1951 GMT) launch, although meteorologists are keeping an eye no a new tropical storm in the Caribbean that could pose a threat if the launch is delayed after the end of this week.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list