spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle launch remains on schedule
Posted: Wed, Jul 13, 2005, 8:19 AM ET (1219 GMT)
STS-114: logo (NASA) The launch of the space shuttle Discovery remains on track for Wednesday afternoon despite an incident late Tuesday that caused minor damage to the orbiter. During launch preparations a cover placed over one of the overhead windows on the shuttle's crew cabin fell off, striking a carrier panel on one of the shuttle's engine pods, damaging two tiles there. Shuttle engineers were able to quickly replace the panel with a spare taken from the shuttle Endeavour. Early Wednesday tanking of the shuttle's external take was delayed to repair a faulty heater, but was started shortly after 7 am EDT (1100 GMT). Launch remains scheduled for 3:51 pm EDT (1951 GMT), with a 60 percent chance of acceptable weather.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
Every 202,500 Years, Earth Wanders in a New Direction
New York Times — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Alien Asteroids Are Here, Scientists Say. Get Used to Them.
New York Times — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)
Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft to ISS
Space News — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list