spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA reschedules STS-114 launch for July 26
Posted: Thu, Jul 21, 2005, 10:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
STS-114: logo (NASA) Shuttle managers said late Wednesday that they think they have tracked down the cause of a sensor glitch that postponed last week's scheduled launch of the shuttle Discovery, and now plan to perform a launch on Tuesday, July 26. Engineers believe that an electrical grounding problem with a "point sensor box" may have caused fuel sensor to malfunction, generating erroneous readings. Technicians will close out work over the next few days and the countdown will resume Saturday for a launch at 10:39 am EDT (1439 GMT) July 26. Even if the sensor fails again during the countdown managers are prepared to proceed with the count, provided the understand the nature of the failure. The sensor is one of four that measures the flow of liquid hydrogen into the shuttle's main engines. The current launch window closes at the end of the month, although officials are looking at ways to extend the window into the first few days of August, if necessary.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list