spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA ready for Tuesday shuttle launch attempt
Posted: Mon, Jul 25, 2005, 1:47 PM ET (1747 GMT)
STS-114: logo (NASA) NASA shuttle managers gave their approve late Sunday for Tuesday morning's launch of Discovery on the first post-Columbia mission, despite the lack of a resolution for a fuel sensor problem. Discovery is scheduled to lift off on mission STS-114 at 10:39 am EDT (1439 GMT) Tuesday. Managers cleared the shuttle for launch even though they do not yet fully understand what caused a fuel sensor to malfunction during preparations for a July 13 launch. That problem caused NASA to scrub the launch while engineers tried to understand the cause of the glitch. Managers said they would be willing to launch even if the sensor malfunctions again, provided they understand the situation. No other technical problems have been reported with the countdown, although weather could become an issue: forecasts call for only a 60 percent chance of acceptable weather at launch time Tuesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list