spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-114 astronauts complete first EVA
Posted: Sat, Jul 30, 2005, 3:45 PM ET (1945 GMT)
STS-114: EVA 1 (NASA) Two members of the STS-114 crew conducted a spacewalk outside the space shuttle Discovery Saturday, testing shuttle tile repair techniques and performing work on the International Space Station. Soichi Noguchi and Steve Robinson spent six hours and 50 minutes outside the shuttle on an EVA that started at 5:36 am EDT (0936 GMT) Saturday. The two started their spacewalk in the shuttle's cargo bay, testing methods of repairing shuttle tiles on-orbit. The two then performed a series of tasks on the exterior of the station, including replacing an antenna and swapping out power connectors for one of the station's gyros. The EVA went smoothly and the two were able to perform some additional tasks not originally planned for the spacewalk. The EVA is the first of three planned for the STS-114 mission; the second will take place Monday and the third on Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list