spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MESSENGER flies past Earth
Posted: Wed, Aug 3, 2005, 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
MESSENGER illustration (JHUAPL) One year after launch, NASA's MESSENGER spacecraft flew past the Earth Tuesday en route to its final destination, Mercury. MESSENGER passed 2,347 km over central Mongolia at 3:13 pm EDT (1913 GMT) Tuesday, one day shy of the first anniversary of its launch from Cape Canaveral. the flyby adjusted the spacecraft's orbit, putting it on course for a flyby of Venus in October 2006. That flyby, as well as a second in June 2007, will allow MESSENGER to reach Mercury in early 2008. Three flybys of Mercury will take place through September 2009, setting it up to finally enter orbit around the innermost in 2011. MESSENGER (MErcury Surface, Space ENvironment, GEochemistry, and Ranging), is the first mission to visit Mercury since Mariner 10 three decades ago, and the first to go into orbit around the small, rocky world.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list